PoD (Points of Discontinuity) - Abstract

The present project aims to create new ways of analyzing time-related processes in post-tonal instrumental and electronic music based on findings and research methods developed in the earlier FWF-projects A Context-Sensitive Theory of Post-tonal Sound Organization [CTPSO] (2012–14) and Performing, Experiencing and Theorizing Augmented Listening [PETAL] (2017–20). In particular we will extend the concept of “cadence” from its standard use in the analysis of tonal music to post-tonal and sound-based musical works of the past hundred years. In addition to pitch-based harmonic processes, our concept of post-tonal cadence will preserve fundamental properties of tonal cadences such as instability/stability and motion/rest. Moreover, we will show how the perception of cadential moments might be conditioned by additional musical dimensions such as tempo, timbre, density, texture, and space. In a broader sense, such moments can be considered “points of discontinuity” in which endings and new beginnings meet. The relative salience (perceptual prominence) of these points is crucial for the formal design of a specific piece of music, resulting in different levels of segmentation of the musical flow into discrete phrases or sections. A meaningful categorization of these kinds of segmentation is the main objective of our project. As theoretical tools for categorizing cadential points, we will use the concepts of “entropy” (degree of order/disorder), “convergence/divergence,” and “continuity/discontinuity.”

Our research is divided into three stages: (1) Points and degrees of segmentation will be identified in a broad repertoire of post-tonal instrumental and electronic works, based on perception-sensitive analytical methods as well as web-based experiments with external listeners. (2) Building on an evaluation of these research data, we will formulate hypotheses on how the organization and perception of cadential moments in post-tonal music might be categorized and described in a nuanced, context-sensitive manner. (3) Electronic sound sequences will be created as models representing these hypotheses. These models will be used in perceptual experiments with expert and non-expert listeners. The results of these experiments will serve to further refine our theoretical model of cadence and temporal organization in post-tonal music.

Outcomes will be made accessible through a project website, a number of peer-reviewed articles in open access journals, as well as a public two-day conference at the end of the project involving external collaboration partners from Graz, Linz, Montreal, and Portland. The technological output of our research includes the development of a software for the segmentation of musical examples and the analysis of spatial structures that may find further use in the field of electronic music. All data assembled during our research will be made accessible in anonymized form through an open access github repository.

PoD (Points of Discontinuity) - Abstract

Das vorliegende Projekt zielt darauf ab, neue Wege der Analyse zeitbezogener Prozesse in posttonaler instrumentaler und elektronischer Musik zu entwickeln, die auf Erkenntnissen und Forschungsmethoden zweier früherer FWF-Projekte basieren (Eine kontextsensitive Theorie der posttonalen Klangorganisation [CTPSO], 2012–14, und Augmented Listening: Aufführung, Hörerfahrung und Theoriebildung [PETAL],2017–20). Insbesondere werden wir dabei das Konzept der „Kadenz“ ausgehend von seiner Verwendung in der Analyse tonaler Musik auf posttonale und klangbasierte Musikwerke der letzten hundert Jahre ausweiten. Zusätzlich zu tonhöhenbasierten harmonischen Prozessen werden bei unserem Konzept der posttonalen Kadenz grundlegende Eigenschaften tonaler Kadenzen wie Instabilität/Stabilität und Bewegung/Ruhe beibehalten. Darüber hinaus werden wir zeigen, wie die Wahrnehmung von Kadenzmomenten durch weitere musikalische Dimensionen wie Tempo, Klangfarbe, Dichte, Textur und Raum bedingt sein kann. Im weiteren Sinne können sie als „Momente der Diskontinuität“ betrachtet werden, an denen Schlüsse und Neuanfänge zusammentreffen. Die relative Salienz (Deutlichkeit) dieser Punkte ist entscheidend für die formale Gestaltung eines bestimmten Musikstücks, wobei der musikalische Fluss in einzelne Phrasen oder Abschnitte auf verschiedenen Ebenen segmentiert (unterteilt) wird. Eine aussagekräftige Kategorisierung dieser Art der Segmentierung ist das Hauptziel unseres Projekts. Als theoretische Werkzeuge zur Kategorisierung von Kadenzpunkten verwenden wir die Konzepte „Entropie“ (Grad von Ordnung/Unordnung), „Konvergenz/Divergenz“ und „Kontinuität/Diskontinuität“.

Unsere Forschung gliedert sich in drei Phasen: (1) Segmentierungspunkte und -grade werden in einem breiten Repertoire posttonaler instrumentaler und elektronischer Werke identifiziert, die auf wahrnehmungssensitiven Analysemethoden sowie webbasierten Experimenten mit externen Zuhörer*innen basieren. (2) Aufbauend auf einer Auswertung dieser Forschungsdaten formulieren wir Hypothesen, die Organisation und Wahrnehmung von Kadenzmomenten in posttonaler Musik auf nuancierte, kontextsensitive Weise kategorisieren und beschrieben. (3) Elektronische Klangsequenzen werden als Modelle dieser Hypothesen erstellt und in Wahrnehmungsexperimenten mit Zuhörer*innen (mit und ohne musikalische Kenntnisse) verwendet. Die Ergebnisse dieser Experimente dienen dazu, unser theoretisches Modell der Kadenz und Zeitorganisation in posttonaler Musik weiter zu verfeinern.

Die Ergebnisse werden über eine Projektwebsite, eine Reihe von Peer-Review-Artikeln in Open-Access-Zeitschriften sowie eine öffentliche zweitägige Konferenz am Ende des Projekts zugänglich gemacht. Zu den technologischen Ergebnissen unserer Forschung gehört die Entwicklung einer Software zur Segmentierung von Musikbeispielen und zur Analyse räumlicher Strukturen. Alle Daten, die während unserer Forschung gesammelt werden, werden in anonymisierter Form über ein Open-Access-Github-Repository zugänglich gemacht.